I love that I can point to my hand and show people where I’m from in Michigan

“I don’t really want to become normal, average, standard. I want merely to gain in strength, in the courage to live out my life more fully, enjoy more, experience more. I want to develop even more original and more unconventional traits.” -Anais Nin

The subway system is something special and will give you the biggest taste of culture ever. Over hearing about 5 different languages being spoke at once is kind of neat. Think about what you do in the privacy of your own car. Now image everyone doing his or her own thing on the subway. People read books, people stare at cell phones, people talk, people sing, people observe, and people play candy crush with the sound turned up. It’s all for the experience. It’s weird that I don’t drive anywhere and if I’m in a car it’s a taxi.

I’ve met some cool people, lots of fun people. I’ve been to some crazy awesome places too. I saw a play called Organic Shrapnel and then met two of the cast members in it for drinks with my friend Sarah, since she is friends with one of the cast members. She works with and knows some pretty awesome people. Lots of talented people, musicians, actors, writers…everyone is a beautiful artist in one-way or another.

Now to me, I’m still on the job hunt. I’ve had a phone interview at a PR agency on Monday, which went great and I have an interview on Friday at a creative agency. I also I had an interview last week for a place doing package design and he really enjoy my portfolio book. Not having a job is stressful but I can’t freak out about that, it has only been one week and a few days. It’s going to be ok!

I sure do miss my friends and family but I don’t miss having to drive in the snow. Actually I haven’t even seen it snow yet. There’s snow here but a lot has melted after the sunny and 50 degree days. It’s a little tough not having my close friends be a 15 minute drive away or my family around. I am thankful to be staying with my friend Sarah. It’s helpful with not knowing anyone in this city part.

Ok back to the title, people get talking and everyone ask, “Where are you from?” It’s so cool that I can show them where I’m from using my hand. I just point and say here, Grand Rapids, Michigan. Some people actually know the city. I’m here for a damn adventure. I’m here for an experience. I’m here to live and see and feel and to be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

